Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Finalists of the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition named

The names of the 30 finalists selected for the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition (2013) have been announced. This is ironically the first competition in which the great American pianist Van Cliburn (above), after whom the competition is named, will not be in attendance. Van Cliburn passed away on 27 February 2013, after succumbing to liver and bone cancer.

They are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Luca Burrato (Italy)
Sean Chen (USA)
Alexei Chernov (Russia)
Sara Daneshpour (USA)
Alessandro Deljavan (Italy)
Fei Fei Dong (China)
Francois Dumont (France)
Yury Favorin (Russia)
Lindsay Garritson (USA)
Jayson Gillham (Australia)
Giuseppe Greco (Italy)
Ruoyu Huang (China)
Claire Huangci (USA)
Vadym Kholodenko (Ukraine)
Nikolay Khozyainov (Russia)
Marcin Koziak (Poland)
Kuan-Ting Lin (Taiwan)
Steven Lin (USA)
Alex McDonald (USA)
Gustavo Miranda-Bernales (Chile)
Nikita Mndoyants (Russia)
Oleksiy Poliykov (Ukraine)
Beatrice Rana (Italy)
Tomoki Sakata (Japan)
Scipione Sangiovanni (Italy)
Hyung-Min Suh (Korea)
Alessandro Taverna (Italy)
Jie Yuan (China)
YouYou Zhang (USA)
Eric Zuber (USA)

The competition takes place from 24 May to 9 June 2013 at the Bass Performance Hall in Forth Worth, Texas. 

No comments: